Pattern Review: It’s Always Summer

IMG_1807

Sewing with knits is not my favorite. I always feel not quite sure of myself and my skills. But when Debbie from Sew Honey Designs put out a tester call for the It’s Always Summer dress and tunic I couldn’t resist. Her last pattern (The Debut Dress) was such a joy to sew that I couldn’t pass it up. I am so glad I did because this dress is amazing.

The pattern itself offers lots of options. In sizes 2T to 12, it offers a gathered or a-line skirt in tunic, knee, or maxi length. The bodice offers lots of options including a high back, scoop back, and banded back. You can make a million different dresses with just this one pattern.

I went very casual with this pattern and Maggie loves it. For one of the tests I even up-cycled a very soft t-shirt I had that had a giant burrito sauce stain on it. Some of the other testers made gorgeous dresses that would be perfect for casual weddings or special occasions. You can easily dress this up or down depending on your fabric choices.

If you are new to sewing knits this pattern has great tips and explanations. Because the construction is similar to many woven bodices it is a great transition to a new material. I used art gallery knits on one version and they are butter soft.

This pattern will be a staple in our summer wardrobe for years to come!

Dollars and Cents: peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1

This pattern prints in layers which is great for saving ink and paper, and can be made with very little fabric, you can even use an adult tee for the bodice. The pattern is currently on sale for $5 until August 6, 2016. It’s a quick sew that can be made again and again.

Princess Rating: 56f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc7

I did not make very princessy versions of this dress but Maggie LOVED them and requested to wear them several days in row.

Pick yours up on Etsy or Craftsy today!

IMG_1707

Leave a Reply

