Pattern Review: The Charlotte Top & Dress

IMG_1341If I had found this pattern on match.com we’d already be on our 4th date, that’s how much I love it. The Charlotte Dress & Top by Bella Sunshine Designs is the perfect summer pattern. Classic, pretty, with an amazing open back, and lovely details like instructions for piping at the waist this is quickly becoming my go-to pattern of the summer.

For this pattern test I sewed up an adorable dress in Riley Blake Vintage Market and I just loved it. And Maggie just loved it. And we took photos and that should have been it.

IMG_1364

I had recently bought some Coral, Queen of the Sea fabric by Moda that I had earmarked for a totally different project. The night after I finished photographing my tester version I couldn’t sleep and it’s because I was thinking about this dress in this fabric. Planning it in my head. Dreaming about the beachcomber pockets I was going to add. The next day I sewed it up and the day after that I dragged the kids to the nearest body of water to photograph it. This is my new favorite dress in all of Maggie’s wardrobe.

This pattern comes in a wide range of sizes from 6m-12y and does print in layers to save the trees. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. If you can sew a buttonhole you can make this dress.

Dollars and Cents: peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1

This pattern is on sale for only $5, but even at the regular price it is worth it because you will make it more than once. The top is also conservative on fabric so you can make it for very little depending on fabric choices.

Princess Rating: 56f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc7

This dress is so elegant. I want to make a version in satin with a tulle skirt (and I hate tulle.) Perfectly princessy.

Find the dress here.

IMG_1296

Leave a Reply

