Spring Sewing

IMG_8607

I am already working on our summer sewing but before we completely succumb to mermaid fever I wanted to highlight some of the dresses we made this spring. 

First up is the first (and maybe last!) princess dress I have ever made. I used the Beloved pattern by Foofoo Threads for this dress and it turned out lovely. Maggie picked the fabric and tulle out herself, both came from Joann’s.
IMG_8613-001

The pattern was easy to follow and the I liked the way the sleeves were gathered and attached. I opted for the elastic back instead of shirring and if I were to make it again I would definitely opt for the shirring.

IMG_8607

I do love how the front turned out, I love the ruching on the bodice and the lacing that gives it that extra princess touch.

Dollar and cents: peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1

I bought the pattern during a sale but I had none of the material in my stash so it ended up being a little pricier. It was worth it just to watch people’s reactions to her in Kroger.

Princess rating: 56f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc7

This dress obviously gets the highest princess rating because well…it’s a princess dress.

Next up is, maybe, my favorite dress I’ve ever made. It has been pinned to my pinterest board since I don’t know how long but I always found it a little intimidating. Once I made it, it was not only easy, but turned out more beautiful than I could have hoped for.

Haven by Violette Fields Threads

I love the lace inset on the front, the back is to die for and it’s got a great twirl. The fabric I used was Cotton Couture by Michael Miller and now I don’t want to use any other solids. This fabric is so soft and has a beautiful drape. I did leave out the sash called for by the pattern because I didn’t have any matching material but I don’t miss it.

Dollars and Cents: peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1

I bought the fabric from a local retailer but I only needed a little over a yard for the whole thing because I bought the bias tape instead of making my own. The pattern I also bought on sale and will use again so it was definitely worth the investment. We also used this dress for some family photos my in-laws had taken so we definitely got our money’s worth out of it.

Princess rating: 56f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc7

I love this dress more than Maggie does, but it does have a wonderful twirl.

This is the Joy dress also by Violette Fields Threads. I sewed this up in a fabric that is just amazing, Little World by Tamara Kate. It’s covered in butterflies and snails and flowers. When I saw it online I knew I had to have it for this spring and tracked it down at my local quilting shop. I love the style of this dress. The elastic back and bows at the size give it a great fit. I also love that it looks great layered over a t-shirt. Maggie has worn this dress several times and people are always stopping her to compliment her.

Dollars and Cents: peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1

This dress would have cost less if I didn’t have to have it in THAT fabric but I got the pattern on sale and it’s gotten a lot of wear so it was worth it.

IMG_8586-003

Princess Rating: 56f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc7

This dress spins beautifully. The bows on the sides add to the girly feel and who doesn’t love a criss-cross back.

IMG_8901

Last, but not least, is Emily by Violette Fields Threads. This was my dream dress. I wanted to make Maggie a Jane Austen inspired dress for over a year and right before Easter this dress came out and it was perfect.  The cap sleeves, the ruffled neckline, the maxi skirt all made my old-fashioned heart flutter. I used satin ribbon for the sash and what I had leftover of the Little Word fabric. I have still not ruled out dropping way too much money for a photo shoot at one of the antebellum mansions around town.

Dollar and Cents: peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1peanut-shell-clipart-1

This dress is a fabric hog because of the maxi skirt but totally worth it.

Princess Rating: 56f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc756f9dbf39810df576aa4a559a964abc7

A low princess rating but only because this scale is based more on a Disney princess and less on Emily Bennett, my grown-up princess equivalent.

I loved Maggie’s spring wardrobe and picked up a few new skills sewing it up. Now onto summer sewing and MERMAIDS!

Leave a Reply

