Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat?

IMG_8955-001

We love princess movies around here. All of the best princess movies came out when I was growing up and it is so fun to share them with Maggie and enjoy them all over again. One of our favorites is The Little Mermaid. Maggie thinks she is a mermaid (despite the fact that she cannot swim yet.) 

In an effort to make Maggie a summer wardrobe that is more practical (not a word I often use in my sewing) I have decided to try and use a common color palate and theme. And after finding this fabric at my local quilt shop I knew that I had found it.

Mermaids. Pink, aqua, white.

IMG_8952-001

Lucky for me there are lots of designers coming out with mermaid fabric this summer. And I even splurged and ordered an out-of-print Riley Blake fabric I fell in love with last year off ebay.

This is the “Into the Deep” collection by Patty Sloniger for Michael Miller. I love the sea horses and the playful mermaid tails on the skirt. I wanted them to stand out more so I took a fabric pen and colored in a few random ones.

IMG_8945-001

The top pattern is one of my favorites, Clara by Violette Fields Threads. I modified it with flutter sleeves instead of the usual ruffles and added some piping along the bodice. I always make this pattern a size up so that it will fit longer. This is a size 5.

IMG_8936-001.JPG

The shorts are the Berry Bubble Shorts by Rebecca Page. I’m going to write a review on this pattern in the coming week after I make another pair because these turned out very cute. I made the size 3/4 and they were a little big until I took in the waist elastic but they’ll be perfect all summer long and look adorable with a t-shirt and perfect under this top.

IMG_8942

Slightly off topic, when you take pictures of a toddler you never know what you will get. She was in such a goofy mood tonight that half of the pictures I took had faces too weird to keep. Luckily I think she’s cute no matter what.

One thought on “Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat?

  1. Pingback: Under the Sea |

Leave a Reply

